A delivery or load platform will not approve the account until the insurance is uploaded

Amazon Flex insurance requirements

Amazon Flex requires that your insurance meet local requirements; outside New York, its Flex requirements, FAQ and safety pages do not ask you to buy a commercial auto policy. Amazon adds its own commercial auto policy on top of your personal coverage at no cost, with $1,000,000 of auto liability, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage. Amazon's pages disagree on where: the FAQ and safety page say every state but New York, the requirements page says most states. The policy applies only while you are actively delivering during a block, only when you are driving, and not to passengers.

Updated . Written by Andre Beukers, principal at Redoubt, a commercial insurance agency in Salt Lake City, not a government office.

What insurance does Amazon Flex require?

Insurance that meets the rules where you deliver. Amazon's requirements page lists it next to the age, vehicle and license rules: "Your insurance must meet local requirements." The FAQ puts it as a duty, "you must maintain the required insurance for delivering packages in your area," and describes Amazon's own policy as coming "In addition to your personal coverage." Onboarding asks you to have your auto policy on hand "so you can confirm that your policy meets coverage requirements." The Flex pages print no limit of their own and do not say which law counts as local.

For a Utah driver, Utah Code 31A-22-304 sets the liability floor at $30,000 per person, $65,000 per accident and $25,000 property damage, or a $90,000 single limit, for a policy issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025. Section 31A-22-302 says a policy bought to meet the owner's or operator's security requirement includes liability, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage unless affirmatively waived, and personal injury protection.

The car has to qualify too. Amazon requires "a 4-door, mid-sized sedan or larger vehicle, such as a truck with a covered bed, SUV, or a van," and says smaller cars and trucks with open beds do not qualify. If the car you deliver in is rented or borrowed, the FAQ says "you will need to ensure that you have required coverage."

Sources: 1, 2, 7, 26, 27, 8, 6

What does Amazon Flex insurance cover?

Amazon provides a commercial auto policy for Flex delivery partners, with a condition up front. The safety page says "If you maintain personal auto insurance, you are protected under the Amazon Commercial Auto Insurance Policy while you're actively driving and delivering," and that the policy includes "auto liability coverage of $1,000,000, uninsured motorist/under-insured motorist coverage, and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage (passengers are not covered)."

Amazon's own pages disagree on where it is free. The safety page says it is "provided at no cost, in all states besides New York," and the FAQ names "delivery partners in all states other than NY." The requirements page says "Amazon Flex provides free commercial insurance in most states." Confirm in the app that it applies where you deliver before your first block.

That is all the Flex pages print. They give no limit for the uninsured motorist or physical damage parts, and they do not define "contingent." Amazon's Hub Delivery guide, written for businesses that deliver through the same Amazon Delivery app, does print figures for the commercial auto policy Amazon maintains for that program: $1,000,000 per accident in liability, $100,000 per accident for uninsured and underinsured motorists, and $50,000 per accident of contingent collision and comprehensive with a $1,000 deductible. It defines the contingent part plainly: "Comprehensive and collision coverages will only apply if you have the coverage on your personal policy."

Read the Hub figures as Amazon's description of a different program, not as Flex terms. The Flex pages do not say whether the Flex policy's contingent coverage works the same way; ask Flex support in the app before relying on it.

What Amazon publishes about its delivery auto policies, read 2026-10-03
CoverageAmazon Flex (flex.amazon.com)Amazon Hub Delivery (partner guide)
Auto liability$1,000,000$1,000,000 per accident
Uninsured and underinsured motoristIncluded, limit not published$100,000 per accident
Comprehensive and collisionContingent, limit not published$50,000 per accident, $1,000 deductible, only if on your personal policy
PassengersNot coveredNot stated
New York driversDoes not applyDoes not apply
Primary or excessNot statedExcess over your policy if it covers delivery; primary if it does not

Sources: 9, 10, 2, 1, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20

When does Amazon Flex insurance not apply?

Amazon's FAQ draws the lines. The policy "applies only to Amazon Flex delivery partners who are actively delivering during the delivery block." The Flex pages do not say what covers driving outside a block; that is a question for your own policy and your insurer.

The driver has to be you: "if anyone other than the Amazon Flex delivery partner is driving when an accident occurs, the claim for any incurred losses will be denied." A spouse or friend who takes the wheel to finish a route has no Amazon coverage behind them. The safety page adds that passengers are not covered, and the FAQ says that due to local regulations the insurance does not apply to drivers in New York.

Sources: 3, 4, 9, 5

Do I need commercial auto insurance for Amazon Flex?

Not to satisfy Amazon's published Flex requirements, outside New York. Amazon's stated requirement is that your insurance meet local requirements, and its own commercial policy comes in addition to your personal coverage during blocks. In New York, where Amazon's policy does not apply, Amazon says "you may need additional commercial insurance to meet New York state law" and tells you to check with your insurance company.

Your personal insurer is the harder question. The Utah Insurance Department lists delivery among the uses where you may need a commercial or business policy or a change to your current one, and says "If you use your vehicle for any purpose other than driving to work and pleasure use, you may need a commercial auto policy, or you may need to see if your personal auto policy can be endorsed to cover your specific business use." The Flex pages do not say whether a personal insurer has to cover deliveries. Amazon's Hub Delivery guide, written for its store program rather than for Flex, does: "Your personal insurance company is not required to provide coverage for your Amazon deliveries."

So the order of work is: read your own policy for a delivery or business-use exclusion, tell your insurer you deliver for Amazon Flex, and ask in writing whether delivery during a block is covered or can be endorsed. Redoubt's own guidance is that "Paid delivery should be disclosed by name to the personal carrier and any commercial carrier." If the personal insurer will not cover delivery, price a commercial auto policy on the car before you take the next block.

Sources: 1, 2, 5, 29, 28, 22, 31

What are Amazon Hub Delivery insurance requirements?

Hub Delivery is a business program, and its insurance list is a business list. Amazon's application guide says "your business needs active insurance that covers" general liability of $1M per occurrence and $2M total, workers' compensation as required by law, and employer's liability of $1M, and that "Insurance must remain active while you're in the program. Amazon regularly checks compliance." The partner commitments page says the business holds a valid certificate of insurance with those three coverages while it is part of Hub Delivery.

None of the three is auto insurance. Amazon covers the auto side itself, with an order of payment: if you have a commercial auto policy on the vehicle, or a personal policy that covers delivery platforms, "your insurer will provide primary coverage for you while delivering with Amazon, and the commercial auto policy that is maintained by Amazon will be of excess of your policy." If your policy does not cover the delivery, Amazon's policy is primary. Amazon names Zurich American Insurance Company as its underwriter.

Amazon also keeps a commercial general liability policy for Hub deliveries where state rules allow, with a $1,000,000 each occurrence limit and a $2,000,000 general aggregate, but that coverage "will not apply if you and/or your personnel were in any violation/breach of the Amazon Program Terms." Asked whether a Hub business is responsible for lost, stolen or damaged Amazon packages, the guide answers "No, your business is not responsible" and points to the Terms of Service for details.

Sources: 14, 15, 13, 19, 21, 23, 24, 25

What are Amazon delivery insurance requirements?

They depend on the program you signed up for, and Amazon keeps the programs apart. The Hub Delivery guide tells applicants to register with an email "not linked to an existing Amazon shopping, Flex, or DSP account." Flex is an individual's own policy plus Amazon's block-time auto policy; Hub Delivery is a business's general liability, workers' compensation and employer's liability plus Amazon's auto policy.

If you run Delivery Service Partner routes or book loads on Amazon Relay, the Flex answer does not carry over: the Flex FAQ and requirements pages, as read on 2026-10-03, do not mention either program, and nothing on them describes insurance for a business-owned van or truck.

Sources: 16, 1, 2, 3, 14, 19

What to send

What to have ready before you call your insurer

  1. 1.Your current auto declarations page, with every driver and vehicle listed
  2. 2.The policy's exclusions and endorsement list, so the delivery wording can be read
  3. 3.The car you will deliver in, by year, make and model, and whether it is yours, rented or borrowed
  4. 4.Where you live and deliver, especially if any of it is in New York
  5. 5.For Hub Delivery: the certificate showing general liability, workers' compensation and employer's liability
Frequently asked questions

What is the Amazon Flex insurance claims phone number?

Amazon's Flex safety page does not print one. It says the Emergency Help button, reached from the main menu of the Amazon Flex app, offers 911 or the Amazon Emergency Helpline for reporting a safety concern or accident, and to call 911 first if you need emergency services. Report the accident to your own insurer as well.

Did Amazon stop providing insurance for Flex drivers?

Not according to Amazon's US pages as read on 2026-10-03. The FAQ says Amazon provides delivery partners in all states other than New York with commercial auto insurance at no cost, in addition to their personal coverage; the requirements page says free commercial insurance in most states.

Do I have to tell my insurance company I deliver for Amazon Flex?

The Flex pages do not say, beyond telling New York drivers to check with their insurance company. Amazon's Hub Delivery guide, for its separate store program, says it is your responsibility to contact your personal insurer before you start delivering, and the Utah Insurance Department recommends discussing any business use of your vehicle with your agent. Ask your insurer for the answer in writing.

Sources

Where these answers come from

Each entry carries the exact words of the source so you can check it yourself. Forms, rules and carrier pages change; read the current version before acting.

  1. 1. Amazon Flex, Requirements, auto insurance
    “Your insurance must meet local requirements. Amazon Flex provides free commercial insurance in most states.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. "commercial insurance" is a link to the FAQ answer "What kind of insurance do I need?"
  2. 2. Amazon Flex FAQ, What kind of insurance do I need?
    “As a delivery partner, you must maintain the required insurance for delivering packages in your area. In addition to your personal coverage, Amazon provides delivery partners in all states other than NY with commercial auto insurance at no cost.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. The answer goes on to list auto liability, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage, with no limits.
  3. 3. Amazon Flex FAQ, What kind of insurance do I need?, when the policy applies
    “This auto insurance policy applies only to Amazon Flex delivery partners who are actively delivering during the delivery block.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  4. 4. Amazon Flex FAQ, What kind of insurance do I need?, other drivers
    “In addition, if anyone other than the Amazon Flex delivery partner is driving when an accident occurs, the claim for any incurred losses will be denied.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  5. 5. Amazon Flex FAQ, What kind of insurance do I need?, New York
    “Due to local regulations, this insurance does not apply to drivers in the state of New York. If you live in New York, you may need additional commercial insurance to meet New York state law. Check with your insurance company for more information.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  6. 6. Amazon Flex FAQ, What kind of insurance do I need?, rented or borrowed cars
    “If you are renting or borrowing a car, you will need to ensure that you have required coverage.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  7. 7. Amazon Flex FAQ, What is involved in onboarding and how long does it take?
    “Auto insurance policy, so you can confirm that your policy meets coverage requirements”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. One item in the list of things to have on hand during onboarding.
  8. 8. Amazon Flex FAQ, What type of vehicle do I need?
    “In order to deliver with Amazon Flex, you'll need to use a 4-door, mid-sized sedan or larger vehicle, such as a truck with a covered bed, SUV, or a van that can safely and reliably transport assigned deliverables to customers. Smaller cars and trucks with open beds do not qualify.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  9. 9. Amazon Flex, Safety, auto insurance
    “If you maintain personal auto insurance, you are protected under the Amazon Commercial Auto Insurance Policy while you’re actively driving and delivering. The Amazon Commercial Auto Insurance Policy includes auto liability coverage of $1,000,000, uninsured motorist/under-insured motorist coverage, and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage (passengers are not covered).”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. The only limit Amazon's Flex pages print is the $1,000,000 liability figure.
  10. 10. Amazon Flex, Safety, auto insurance, cost and New York
    “This policy is provided at no cost, in all states besides New York. If you live in New York, you may need additional commercial insurance to meet state law.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  11. 11. Amazon Flex, Safety, Emergency Help button
    “If you have an emergency when you’re delivering, the Emergency Help button is easy to access from the main menu in the Amazon Flex app. The Emergency Help button offers the option to contact 911 or the Amazon Emergency Helpline for assistance in reporting a safety concern or accident.”
    flex.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  12. 12. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Your commitments as a Hub Partner
    “Your business will use the Hub app to manage partnership operations and the Amazon Delivery app (Flex app) to complete deliveries.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  13. 13. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Your commitments as a Hub Partner, insurance coverage
    “Your business holds a valid Certificate of Insurance (COI) while part of Hub Delivery, which includes: General liability: $1M per occurrence / $2M total”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. The list continues: workers' comp as required by law, employer's liability $1M.
  14. 14. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, What you'll need to apply, step 2
    “To partner with Hub Delivery, your business needs active insurance that covers: General liability: $1M per occurrence / $2M total Workers’ comp: As required by law Employer’s liability: $1M”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. A list; the three items print on separate lines.
  15. 15. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, What you'll need to apply, step 2
    “Insurance must remain active while you’re in the program. Amazon regularly checks compliance.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  16. 16. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, What you'll need to apply, step 1
    “Use a unique email address not linked to an existing Amazon shopping, Flex, or DSP account to register and get verified.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  17. 17. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, Amazon's commercial auto policy
    “$1,000,000/Accident in Auto Liability $100,000/Accident for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage $50,000/Contingent* Accident Collision and Comprehensive ($1,000 deductible)”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. Three list items under "What does the commercial automobile insurance that is maintained by Amazon cover?" These are Hub Delivery figures; Amazon's Flex pages do not print them.
  18. 18. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, contingent coverage footnote
    “*Comprehensive and collision coverages will only apply if you have the coverage on your personal policy.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  19. 19. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, who provides auto insurance
    “your insurer will provide primary coverage for you while delivering with Amazon, and the commercial auto policy that is maintained by Amazon will be of excess of your policy. If your policy does not provide coverage, the Amazon Commercial Auto policy will provide primary coverage.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. The sentence opens: "If you maintain a commercial auto policy for your vehicle, or personal auto policy that provides coverage when you are operating on a delivery service platform,".
  20. 20. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, New York
    “Due to local regulations, coverage does not apply to drivers in the state of New York.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  21. 21. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, underwriter
    “Zurich American Insurance Company is the underwriter.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. Answer to "Who underwrites the Amazon commercial auto insurance policy?" on the Hub Delivery guide. The Flex pages name no underwriter.
  22. 22. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, telling your personal insurer
    “As an independent contractor, it is your responsibility to understand the terms of your personal insurance coverage and to get in touch with your personal insurance company before you start delivering. Your personal insurance company is not required to provide coverage for your Amazon deliveries.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  23. 23. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, Amazon's general liability policy
    “Yes, where allowed by state regulations, Amazon maintains a commercial general liability (CGL) that will provide coverage for exposures related to Amazon delivery services (both in-store and off premise). Please Note: Coverage will not apply if you and/or your personnel were in any violation/breach of the Amazon Program Terms.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026
  24. 24. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, CGL limits
    “Each Occurrence Limit: $1,000,000 General Aggregate Limit: $2,000,000”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. Two list items; the list continues with $2,000,000 products-completed operations aggregate and $1,000,000 personal and advertising injury.
  25. 25. Amazon Hub Delivery, Partner Essentials, Insurance Requirements, package liability
    “No, your business is not responsible. Additional details can be found in the Terms of Service.”
    partner-essentials.hub-delivery.amazon.com, accessed October 3, 2026. Answer to "Is my business responsible for lost, stolen or damage(s) to Amazon package(s)?"
  26. 26. Utah Code 31A-22-304(2), motor vehicle liability policy minimum limits
    “a policy issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025, containing motor vehicle liability coverage may not limit the insurer's liability under that coverage below the following”
    le.utah.gov, accessed October 3, 2026. The subsection continues: $30,000 for one person, $65,000 for two or more persons, $25,000 property damage, or $90,000 in any one accident.
  27. 27. Utah Code 31A-22-302(1), required components of motor vehicle insurance
    “Every policy of insurance or combination of policies purchased to satisfy the owner's or operator's security requirement of Section 41-12a-301 shall include:”
    le.utah.gov, accessed October 3, 2026. The list that follows: (a) liability under 31A-22-303 and 304; (b) uninsured motorist, "unless affirmatively waived under Subsection 31A-22-305(5)"; (c) underinsured motorist, unless waived under 305.3(3); (d) personal injury protection under 31A-22-306 through 309.
  28. 28. Utah Insurance Department, Business Use Of Your Auto
    “If you use your vehicle for any purpose other than driving to work and pleasure use, you may need a commercial auto policy, or you may need to see if your personal auto policy can be endorsed to cover your specific business use.”
    insurance.utah.gov, accessed October 3, 2026. Read in a browser; insurance.utah.gov returns 403 to curl.
  29. 29. Utah Insurance Department, Business Use Of Your Auto, examples
    “Examples of situations where you may need a commercial or business policy, or where you will need to have your current policy changed to provide you with the necessary coverage include, but are not limited to: Delivery (pizza, newspaper)”
    insurance.utah.gov, accessed October 3, 2026. Read in a browser. "Delivery (pizza, newspaper)" is the first item of the list that follows the colon.
  30. 30. Utah Insurance Department, Business Use Of Your Auto, recommendation
    “We recommend you discuss any business use of your vehicle with your insurance agent to ensure you are adequately covered.”
    insurance.utah.gov, accessed October 3, 2026. Read in a browser; insurance.utah.gov returns 403 to curl.
  31. 31. Redoubt, Delivery driver insurance when you use your own car for work
    “A consultant visiting a client or cleaner traveling between accounts is not the same fact pattern as transporting food, packages, prescriptions, or goods for compensation. Paid delivery should be disclosed by name to the personal carrier and any commercial carrier.”
    www.redoubt.insure, accessed October 3, 2026
The same moment

A delivery or load platform will not approve the account until the insurance is uploaded

Amazon Relay, Flex and DSP, Walmart Spark and DoorDash: what each platform asks for and what a personal policy does not cover.

Elsewhere on the site

Talk to Redoubt

Delivering for Amazon Flex on a personal policy?

Text Redoubt your declarations page and how you deliver: Flex blocks, Hub Delivery, or both. We will go through the policy with you and say what to ask your insurer, or whether a commercial auto policy belongs on the car.

This is general insurance information, not legal advice or a coverage determination. The policy forms, the endorsements the carrier issues, and the requirement in writing from whoever is asking control.

REDOUBT

What a policy covers depends on the policy forms, the endorsements the carrier has issued, and the written requirement of whoever is asking for proof. Redoubt is an insurance agency, not a government office.

Redoubt Corp is a licensed Utah insurance agency. National Producer Number: 22193947. Utah agency license number: 1116212.

© 2026 Redoubt Corp.

56 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111